Photo of Margaret Lamoree
NYSCTA Founder Margaret Lamoree

Click here for Current Historian Contact Information

The Broome County Association of Municipal Clerks invited Town Clerks from all over the State of New York to a meeting to be held on January 21, 1982 in the Town of Kirkwood, Broome County at the Quality Inn, with their President, Margaret Lamoree presiding. Town Clerks from 12 counties and 125 towns attended. It was at this meeting that Margaret Lamoree, our founder, told the Town Clerks about the beginnings of a State wide association. 

Margaret did her homework and was preparing for this meeting for some time. Letters were read by Margaret from Attorney Herbert Kline, who was associated with the Association of Towns of New York, stating some of the steps necessary to form a state wide association. She invited Richard Place, Town Attorney for the Towns of Barker and Union, who addressed the Town Clerks and gave a detailed outline of the steps needed to be taken to form a state wide association, noting that this would need to be set up as a Type B Corporation. He touched on 13 requirements including Certificate of Incorporation, By-Laws, Tax Exempt Relief, "The Purpose", Membership, Dues, Officers, Roberts Rules, Vacancy of Office, Conduct of day to day business, provisions for resignations and reinstatements and honorary members, amendments and a provision for dissolution of the Association. (Richard Place was later appointed as the Attorney for the Association)

Following some discussion by those in attendance, a motion was put forth by Charles English, Town of Windsor, seconded by Susan Querns, Town of Owasco, and adopted by an overwhelming majority to form a state wide Town Clerk's Association.

So on this 21st day of January, 1982, the New York State Town Clerks Association was born. The dues for the first year were set at $20.00.

A motion was put forth by John Davanzo, Town of North Hempstead, seconded by Ruth DeSilva, Town of Dickinson,  and adopted, to appoint Carolyn Fitzgerald, Town of Kirkwood, as temporary Secretary-Treasurer, and Carolyn immediately assumed her duties. 

A motion was put forth by Connie Lightner, Town of Vestal, seconded by Mildred Stewart, Town of Warwick, to nominate Margaret Lamoree, Town of Sanford, President of the New York State Town Clerks Association, and being no other nominations from the floor Margaret Lamoree was elected President by all of those present.

Further nominations and elections were accomplished that day including Maureen Bowes, Town of Hamptonburgh, was elected Vice President, Jane Collins, Town of Elma, elected Treasurer and Carolyn Fitzgerald was elected Secretary.

It was decided that a meeting would be held in New York City in conjunction with the Association of Towns Conference in February 1982.  More...