Town Clerk of the Year 

Do you know of a clerk who merits the dedication to their profession to be named the New York State Town Clerks Association 'Town Clerk of the Year'?

Each year, the Clerk of the Year Committee asks for nominations from each district for a clerk who exemplifies a personal and professional commitment with their town and community. Qualifications to nominating a clerk are, but not limited to:

  • Sitting Town Clerk for at least 10 years
  • NYSTCA member for five consecutive years
  • Development personally and professionally demonstrated by attending NYSTCA Conferences, Regional Trainings, RMC Certification, IIMC programs, involved or a member of their County Association, community service participation, and any special achievements, awards, and/or accomplishments.  

Once all nominations are submitted, the Clerk of the Year Committee selects the ‘Clerk of the Year’ based on the nomination form submitted with all supporting documentation. The ‘Clerk of the Year’ is announced at the banquet held on Tuesday night of Conference.  

Deadline to Submit a Nomination:

Start thinking today of a clerk deserving of the 2024 NYS Town Clerk of the Year, to be announced at the Annual Conference in April of 2024. 

Submit an Online Nomination for Town Clerk of the Year

Town Clerk of the Year - Past Winners

2023 Town Clerk of the Year

Sue Koch - Town of Little Valley

The Association is proud to name Sue Koch from the Town of Little Valley as the 2023 Town Clerk of the Year. 

Past Winners 

1984-  Marie Fuesy                              Ossining

1986- John Davanzo                            North Hempstead

1987- Bonnie Vass Werther                Colonie

1988- James Hackett                          Union

1989- Gloria Jones                               Camillus

1990- Harriet Boyle                              Cortlandt

1991- Douglass Ann Ruble                 Big Flats

1992- Marilynn Allgeier                       Wilson

1993- Gail Wolanin Young                  New Hartford

1994- Sarah VanNoy Bounds             Canandaigua

1995- Anna Halkowich                        Warren

1996- Margaret Tremper                     Shawangunk

1997- Patricia Johnson                       LeRoy

1998- Frances Nugent                         Rye

1999- Alice Hunt                                  Victor

2000- Marie Hennings                        German Flats

2001- Carol Franey                               Evans

2002- Jo-Ann Raia                               Huntington

2003- Rebecca Connolly                     Somerset

2004- Barbara Decker                          Blooming Grove

2005- Joanne Costley                           Nanticoke

2006- Patricia Scova                            Mount Pleasant

2010- Kathleen Cory                            Lewisboro

2011- Mildred Kramp                          Newfane

2012- Kathi Rickman                           Hamlin

2013- Marie Little                                Royalton

2014- Donna Conlin                            Schodak

2015- Rebecca Haines                       Ellery

2016- Tina Ward                                  Cobleskill

2017- Louisa Ingrassia                       Wallkill

2018- Dorothy Worthington               Hebron

2021-Desiree Potvin                           Woodbury

2023- Sue Koch                                  Little Valley

  1. Denis Noncarrow

    Denis Noncarrow

    District 1, Serving Nassau and Suffolk Counties

  2. Susan Baldwin

    Susan Baldwin, RMC

    District 4, Serving Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Saratoga, Warren and Washington Counties

  3. Gretchen A Hind

    Gretchen Hind, RMC/CMC

    District 10, Serving Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara Counties